dan_dutcher (dan_dutcher) wrote in cssf_workshop,

Yaszek joins Campbell Award jury as Shippey and Di Filippo retire

Lisa Yaszek is the newest jury member of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science-fiction novel of the year.

Lisa Yaszek is professor and director of undergraduate studies in the School of Literature, Media, and Communication at Georgia Tech and past president of the Science Fiction Research Association. Her research interests include science fiction, cultural history, critical race and gender studies, and science and technology studies. Her essays on science fiction as a global language appear in journals including Extrapolation, Rethinking History, and Paradoxa. She is the author of books including Galactic Suburbia: Recovering Women's Science Fiction (Ohio State University Press 2008) and co-editor of collections including the Configurations special double issue on science-fiction author Kim Stanley Robinson (Winter-Spring 2012). She is currently completing an edited anthology called Women's Work in Early Science Fiction for Wesleyan Press and serving as associate producer for the independent science-fiction film Rite of Passage.

T.A. (Tom) Shippey is retiring after more than 40 years of serving on the Campbell Award jury. Paul Di Filippo is retiring from the jury after serving six years. The Gunn Center thanks both of these gentlemen for the time and effort they put forth during their tenure on the jury.

The first Campbell Award was presented in 1973 at the Illinois Institute of Technology. Since 1979, the award has been presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

The award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine, now named Analog. Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, is called by many writers and scholars the father of modern science fiction. Writers and critics Harry Harrison and Brian W. Aldiss established the award in Campbell's name as a way of continuing his efforts to encourage writers to produce their best possible work.

The current jury consists of Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Christopher McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and Lisa Yaszek.
Tags: christopher mckitterick, elizabeth anne hull, gregory benford, james gunn, john w. campbell award, ku gunn center for the study of science , lisa yaszek, pamela sargent, paul di filippo, paul kincaid, science fiction, sheila finch, tom shippey

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic
    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.